Deborah Friedman, M.D., M.P.H. Photo

Deborah Friedman, M.D., M.P.H.

  • Profile
  • Credentials
Deborah Friedman, M.D., M.P.H.

Dr. Friedman is a board certified Neurologist, Neuro-Ophthalmologist and Headache Medicine specialist. She is a national leader in her fields and one of only a few physicians in the country with expertise in both subspecialties. She earned her Bachelor of Engineering Science at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Georgia and her Doctor of Medicine at Tulane University School of Medicine in New Orleans, Louisiana. Dr. Friedman completed her Internship in Medicine at Good Samaritan Hospital in Cincinnati, Ohio, her Residency in Neurology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas and her Fellowship in Neuro-Ophthalmology at Doheny Eye Institute in Los Angeles, California. She has a Master of Public Health from the University of Rochester in Rochester, New York.

She is board certified in Neurology by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and board certified in Headache Medicine by the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Neurology, the American Headache Society, the American Neurological Association, and the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society (NANOS), and is a past President of NANOS. She is the Program Co-Chair for the American Headache Society's Annual Scottsdale Headache Symposium and the Treasurer of the Southern Headache Society.

Her clinical and research interests include disorders of cerebrospinal fluid dynamics (pseudotumor cerebri syndrome/idiopathic intracranial hypertension, spontaneous intracranial hypotension), migraine therapeutics and cluster headache therapeutics. She has published more than 130 peer-reviewed articles, authored or co-authored more than 27 book chapters, and delivered more than 300 lectures and presentations. She is active in many national and international organizations related to her subspecialties. She serves on the editorial boards of the Journal of Neuro-Ophthalmology and Neurology Reviews and as a reviewer for a number of professional journals.


Selected Professional Associations and Affiliations

· American Headache Society (1998-present), Consortium of Fellowship Program Directors (2012–2022), Ethics Committee (2002–2011; Chair 2016–2020), Board of Directors (2004–2010, 2014–2020), Chair, Task Force on Application Standards (2014), Legislative Affairs Liaison (2006–2014), Scottsdale Headache Symposium Program Co-Chair (2020 - present)

· North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society (1988), Board Chair (2008–2010), President (2006–2008), President Elect (2004–2006), Secretary (2000–2002), Treasurer (1996–1998), Bylaws Committee (2012-present), Education Committee (1995-2006), NOVEL Steering Committee (2007-2014)

· American Academy of Neurology (1985), Chair, Headache and Facial Pain Section (2011-2013), Executive Committee for Sections and Subspecialties (2013-2020)

· Southern Headache Society (2012), Board of Directors (non-voting member) 2020–present

· Spinal Cerebrospinal Fluid Leak Foundation (2018-present), Medical Advisory Board

· Headache Organization of Texas (2012-present), Founder and Director

· Women in Neuro-Ophthalmology (1992), Co-founder and President (1992–1994)

· National Headache Foundation (1999-present)

· American Neurological Association (2004-present)

· International Headache Society (2003-present)

· Healthy Women Women's Advisory Council (2019- 2022)

Honors and Awards Regional and National Recognition

· Best Doctors in America (1998-present)

· American Registry America’s Most Honored Doctors (2020-present)

· US News and World Report Top Doctors (2011-present)

· Castle Connolly Top Doctors (2011-present)

· Castle Connolly Exceptional Women in Medicine (2018-present)

· Who’s Who in America (2011-present)

· Patients’ Choice Award (2016-present)

· Top Doctors in North Texas (2015-present)

· America’s Top Physicians, Consumers’ Research Council of America (2006)

Professional Society Awards

· Thomas Carlow Distinguished Service Award 2012, North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society

· Athena Award Finalist 2011, Rochester Business Alliance Women's Council

· John Graham Award 2021, American Headache Society

· Seymour Solomon Award 2018, American Headache Society

· Readers’ Choice Award 2018, Headache

· Above and Beyond Award 2017, American Headache SocietyFellow of American Headache Society (2005)

· Fellow of American Academy of Neurology (1998)

· Fellow of North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society (1991)

· Fellow of American Neurological Association (2004)

Key-Whitman Eye Center

Why We're the Right Choice for You and Your Family
  • Serving Patients Since 1961
  • Most Insurances Are Accepted
  • Eligible to Conduct Clinical Trials
  • Convenient Locations Throughout Dallas & Fort Worth
  • Above & Beyond Customer Service
  • Extensive Experience & Advanced Technology
  • Free Consultations for LASIK, PRK, EpiClear & ICL Services
  • Service Available in Spanish, Manderin & More

Get In Touch

Send A Message

Feel free to contact us by filling out the form below and our team will contact you back.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • Living Magazine
    Living Magazine
  • Best D 2022
    Best D 2022
  • Best D 2021
    Best D 2021
  • Best D 2020
    Best D 2020
  • Best D 2019
    Best D 2019
  • Best D - 2001 - 2018
    Best D - 2001 - 2018
  • Top Doctors
    Top Doctors
  • Livingwell Top Docs 2019
    Livingwell Top Docs 2019
  • Top 100 Places to Work
    Top 100 Places to Work
  • Readers Choice
    Readers Choice
  • MD Monthly
    MD Monthly
  • Readers Choice Awards - 2015
    Readers Choice Awards - 2015
  • Super Doctors - Texas 2015
    Super Doctors - Texas 2015
  • 2019 Top Doctors
    2019 Top Doctors
  • Texas Monthly Super Doctors
    Texas Monthly Super Doctors